earliest record of the village shop
a deed of 1453.
In 1517 it was bought,as the Manor House
by Ann Boleyn's father.
unique row of timbered Tudor houses is known as Chiddingstone,
comprising a village shop, a lovely church, an antique shop,
flourishing village school and, in one corner in the lea
Castle, the Castle Inn.
first reference to the ancient village occurs in 814AD,
as land granted to the Archbishop of Canterbury. A successor,
Archbishop Lanfranc held it almost intact 250 years later,
and there is a connection with the See of Canterbury to
this day. Katherine Parr's first husband, Sir Edward de
Burgh, occupied part of the village at one time.
Streatfeild family enters the picture from the middle of
the 16th century. The first Richard Streatfeild made his
fortune as an Elizabethan ironmaster and, as squires and
patrons of the village, the family retained an intimate
association for 450 years. That is, until 1939 when the
family sold the village to the National Trust.
village street remains exceptionally unspoilt, each house
an attractive example of 16th and 17th domestic architecture.
Castle Inn, first referred to in 1420 as Waterslip House,
became an inn about 1730 and continues in business to